Canadian Advances in Neuro-Orthopedics for Spasticity Congress (CANOSC)

Our Mission

Bring together leading hand and peripheral nerve surgeons with spasticity experts in a groundbreaking approach to spasticity.

Our Focus

Focused on improving spasticity outcomes, with novel approaches,  with an national and international experts.  We encourage all spasticity and peripheral nerve experts to collaborate and learn.

We are inspired to redefine your definition of contracture and maximal and plateaued outcomes.  Using a simple technique of performing nerve blocks with US guidance, we have been able to demonstrate the potential length of spastic muscles.  Blocking the musculocutaneous to brachialis, radial to brachioradialis, tibial to the branches of the triceps surae, pectoral nerves, ulnar to FCU, and fascicular branches of the median nerve, the potential for a greater active or passive range of motion can be demonstrated.

Once further range and function are determined then both traditional approaches with botulinum toxin and novel interventions are proposed. These include:

  • Neurotomy with cryoablation for a long-term, but a reversible technique that causes Wallerian Degeneration but the preservation of the epineurium.
  • Neurotomy and microsurgical tendon lengthening with laser.
  • World experts will show bedside needle tenotomy for long-term care patients with clenched fists.
  • Surgical neurectomy for the lower extremity.
  • key peripheral nerves that can selectively be targeted to improve function and quality of life.
  • Importance of adjunctive serial casting

Our Goal

We hope with collaborative care to build a National Canadian Strategy for Neuro-Orthopedics.